PFA Player of the Year Award Winners List (Past Winners)

PFA Player of the Year Award Past Winners List

List of PFA winners? Past PFA Player of the Year Award Winners list? The Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) was formed way back in 1908 and is one of the oldest football associations. The association was formed to protect the rights of the English professional football players.

PFA Player of the Year Award Winners List

The PFA Player of the year award was introduced back in 1974 and has since been a tradition until today. The Player of the year is awarded each year in the first division (now known as the Premier League) by the PFA to the best performing player in the league.

PFA short list

PFA releases a short list of the best performing players in April every year. PFA short list is sent to all the 20 clubs in the Premier League so that they can vote for their nominee. PFA winner is announced on the last Sunday of April every year.

PFA Player of the Year Award Winners List

Past Winners of PFA Player Of The Year Award In Premier League

Let’s now look at the list of the Winners of the PFA Player of The Year since its establishment in 1974. Here is a full list of PFA player of the year winners

YearPFA WinnerCountry Club
2015Eden HazardBelgiumChelsea
2014Luis SuárezArgentineLiverpool
2013Gareth BaleWalesTottenham
2012Robin van PersieNetherlandsManchester United
2011Gareth BaleWalesTottenham
2010Wayne RooneyEnglandManchester United
2009Ryan GiggsWalesManchester United
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2006Steven GerrardEnglandLiverpool
2005John TerryEnglandChelsea
2004Thierry HenryFranceArsenal
2003Thierry HenryFranceArsenal
2002Ruud van NistelrooyHollandManchester United
2001Teddy SheringhamEnglandManchester United
2000Roy KeaneIrlandManchester United
1999David GinolaFranceTottenham
1998Dennis BergkampHollandArsenal
1997Alan ShearerEnglandNewcastle United
1996Les FerdinandGreat BritainNewcastle United
1995Alan ShearerGreat Britain Blackburn Rovers
1994Eric CantonaFranceManchester United
1993Paul McGrathIrelandAston Villa
1992Gary PallisterEnglandManchester United
1991Mark HughesWalesManchester United
1990David PlattEnglandAston Villa
1989Mark HughesWalesManchester United
1988John BarnesEnglandLiverpool
1987Clive AllenEnglandTottenham
1986Gary LinekerEnglandEverton
1985Peter ReidEnglandEverton
1984Ian RushWalesLiverpool
1983Kenny DalglishScotlandLiverpool
1982Kevin KeeganEnglandSouthampton
1981John WarkScotlandIpswich Town
1980Terry McDermottEnglandLiverpool
1979Liam BradyIrlandArsenal
1978Peter ShiltonEnglandNottingham Forest
1977Andy GrayScotlandAston Villa
1976Pat JenningsNorthern IrelandTottenham
1975Colin ToddEnglandDerby County
1974Norman HunterEnglandLeeds United

PFA Player of The Year Award

Since the start of the PFA Player of the year award, only six players have won it more than once. These are Gareth Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, Alan Shearer, Mark Hughes and Kevin Keegan.

So Far, only 18 English players have won the award and Wayne Rooney was the last English player to win the Award (PFA Player of The Year) in 2009.

PFA player of the year 2016

PFA player of the year 2016? Kane, Ozil, Vardy and Mahrez all nominated to PFA Player of the Year 2016. See all the PFA player of the year 2016 nominees.