Home Basketball NBA Prize Money 2020: How Much Do NBA Winners Get?

NBA Prize Money 2020: How Much Do NBA Winners Get?

NBA Prize Money 2020 How Much Do NBA Winners Get

NBA Prize Money Breakdown 2020

How much money do you think the NBA winners make? In the National Basketball Association, there is a clear format where players get paid a bonus fee for making it into the playoffs. We are about to breakdown exactly, how much money is divided amongst the 30 teams in the NBA and how much prize money is let out at the end of the season. The NBA prize money pool is bound to be in the millions, given how popular the league is across the world.

The entire sports industry in the world generates $400 billion and the NBA plays a major part in that. Fans spend thousands of dollars to get a glimpse of the action whereas, owners spend millions and billions. Watch and Bet =>

NBA Prize Money 2020: How Much Do NBA Winners Get?

National Basket Association Breakdown

The NBA is recognized worldwide as the premier level of basketball. That means the world’s best athletes play in the NBA and are watched by millions across the planet. Players come into the league mostly through the draft process or through the NBA G League. There are thirty teams broken up into conferences, 29 of them in the United States and 1 in Canada.

All 30 teams duke it out in the regular season of 82 games for a playoff spot. 8 teams from each conference get seeded based on their season record. That means 16 teams have a chance of making it to the final. They feature in playoff rounds of 7 games each. And then, the winners from each conference meet in the NBA finals to ultimately win the trophy. Now, the National Basketball Association gathers a prize money pool for all playoff teams and then distribute them accordingly.

Below, we have listed all the teams currently present in the NBA.

NBA Eastern Conference Teams

Division Team City, State Arena Capacity
Atlantic Boston Celtics Boston, Massachusetts TD Garden 18,624
Brooklyn Nets New York City, New York Barclays Center 17,732
New York Knicks New York City, New York Madison Square Garden 19,812
Philadelphia 76ers Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Wells Fargo Center 21,600
Toronto Raptors Toronto, Ontario Scotiabank Arena 19,800
Central Chicago Bulls Chicago, Illinois United Center 20,917
Cleveland Cavaliers Cleveland, Ohio Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse 20,562
Detroit Pistons Detroit, Michigan Little Caesars Arena 20,491
Indiana Pacers Indianapolis, Indiana Bankers Life Fieldhouse 17,923
Milwaukee Bucks Milwaukee, Wisconsin Fiserv Forum 18,717
Southeast Atlanta Hawks Atlanta, Georgia State Farm Arena 15,711
Charlotte Hornets Charlotte, North Carolina Spectrum Center 19,077
Miami Heat Miami, Florida American Airlines Arena 19,600
Orlando Magic Orlando, Florida Amway Center 18,846
Washington Wizards Washington, D.C. Capital One Arena 20,356

NBA Western Conference Teams

Division Team City, State Arena Capacity
Northwest Denver Nuggets Denver, Colorado Pepsi Center 19,520
Minnesota Timberwolves Minneapolis, Minnesota Target Center 19,356
Oklahoma City Thunder Oklahoma City, Oklahoma Chesapeake Energy Arena 18,203
Portland Trail Blazers Portland, Oregon Moda Center 19,441
Utah Jazz Salt Lake City, Utah Vivint Smart Home Arena 19,911
Pacific Golden State Warriors San Francisco, California Chase Center 18,064
Los Angeles Clippers Los Angeles, California Staples Center 19,060
Los Angeles Lakers Los Angeles, California Staples Center 18,997
Phoenix Suns Phoenix, Arizona Talking Stick Resort Arena 18,055
Sacramento Kings Sacramento, California Golden 1 Center 17,500
Southwest Dallas Mavericks Dallas, Texas American Airlines Center 19,200
Houston Rockets Houston, Texas Toyota Center 18,055
Memphis Grizzlies Memphis, Tennessee FedExForum 18,119
New Orleans Pelicans New Orleans, Louisiana Smoothie King Center 16,867
San Antonio Spurs San Antonio, Texas AT&T Center 18,418

NBA Winners Purse

The Golden State Warriors faced the Toronto Raptors in the 2019 finals and each player took home a nice bonus even if they did not win. The “players’ pool” is split up amongst the final 16 teams. It is the league’s duty to help divide that amount amongst victorious teams. Last year, the prize pool was around $22 million, as confirmed CNBC from an NBA representative. The winners for NBA 2020 is LA Lakers after beating Miami Heat 106-93.

SB Nation offers data on which you can make rough estimates on what each team makes. The winning team from 2018 took home $3.3 million. Now, counting the inflation to each year of 10%, the winning team last year received $3.6 million. That rounds up to $240,000 per player in a squad of 15 players..

Now, in hindsight, that is not a lot of money for players like Stephen Curry or Kwahi Leonard, who have contracts worth upwards of $30 million a season. It is not even a week’s worth of wages for them. But it is a neat little sum for players lower down in the wage bracket, especially ones who make the league minimum of $2 million a year. Watch and Bet =>

NBA Prize Money Winners

The Boston Celtics are the joint most successful NBA team with 17 championships. The Los Angeles Lakers rank with them at 17. 11 of them were won in Los Angeles and the other 5 in Minneapolis and this year they added their 17th one. Stephan Curry’s Golden State Warriors are the most prolific side to have gone on a run of winning three championships in five years. Now, if you want to bet on who’s going to win the NBA title next year, you can do so right here! Watch and Bet =>

Trophy Count Of All NBA Teams

Teams Wins Losses Total Year(s) Won
Boston Celtics 17 4 21 1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 

1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 

1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008

Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers 17 15 32 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010.2020
Chicago Bulls 6 0 6 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998
Philadelphia/San Francisco/Golden State Warriors 6 5 11 1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018
San Antonio Spurs 5 1 6 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2014
Miami Heat 3 2 5 2006, 2012, 2013
Fort Wayne/Detroit Pistons 3 4 7 1989, 1990, 2004
Syracuse Nationals/Philadelphia 76ers 3 6 9 1955, 1967, 1983
Houston Rockets 2 2 4 1994, 1995
New York Knicks 2 6 8 1970, 1973
Toronto Raptors 1 0 1 2019
Cleveland Cavaliers 1 4 5 2016
Dallas Mavericks 1 1 2 2011
Seattle SuperSonics/Oklahoma City Thunder 1 3 4 1979
Baltimore/Washington Bullets (now Washington Wizards) 1 3 4 1978
Portland Trail Blazers 1 2 3 1977
Milwaukee Bucks 1 1 2 1971
St. Louis/Atlanta Hawks 1 3 4 1958
Rochester Royals (now Sacramento Kings) 1 0 1 1951
Baltimore Bullets (original) (folded in 1954) 1 0 1 1948
Chicago Stags (folded in 1950) 0 1 1
Washington Capitols (folded in 1951) 0 1 1
Phoenix Suns 0 2 2
Orlando Magic 0 2 2
Utah Jazz (formerly New Orleans Jazz) 0 2 2
Indiana Pacers 0 1 1
New Jersey Nets (now Brooklyn Nets) 0 2 2

Also, check out –


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.