Home Cricket IPL 2021 Prize Money – Cricket Twenty20 IPL Prize Money 2021!

IPL 2021 Prize Money – Cricket Twenty20 IPL Prize Money 2021!

IPL 2019 prize money

IPL 2021 Prize Money- Twenty20

IPL 2021 Prize Money? What is T20 IPL 2021 prize money? So the eleventh Indian Premier League season got underway in April 2021. The 2021 season started on 7 April 2021 and finished on 27 May 2021. IPL is becoming more and more popular with the recent emphasis on club 20/20 cricket. Hence, what is the IPL 2021 prize money?

This has been shown by the massive popularity in the Indian T20 cricket league. The BCCI and IPL increased the prize money for IPL 2021. That means that winners earned US$4 million. This was from the massive total prize money purse of US$8 million. So here we will look at how the IPL 2021 Prize Money is shared.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has a revenue sharing program which is similar to many sports including football and tennis. TV rights and sponsorship deals have meant that there’s a lot of money in cricket. The prize money fund is shared equally between the clubs.

This is distributed depending on where the teams finish in the league. We will look at the Indian Premier League prize money distribution model and see how much money the winners of the competition were awarded.

The Cricket IPL 2021 Prize Money

The total prize money fund for the 2021 IPL season was set at around $8 million. So the winners of 2021 IPL earned $4 million while the runner-ups earned $2 million. Here we look at the IPL 2021 Prize Money breakdown.

Here is the IPL 2021 Prize Money

StagePrize Money
Winners$4 million (₹25.8 crore)
Runners-up$2 million (₹12.9 crore)
3rd Placed Team$1 million  (₹6.4 crore)
4th Placed Team$1 million  (₹6.4 crore)
Other four teams ?Teams who don’t qualify for playoffs are not awarded any prize money
Do players get prize money?Yes-Half of the prize money won by team is awarded to the players

How is IPL 2021 Prize Money shared by IPL clubs?

Clubs share the money between the franchise and the squad players. The team wins $4 million (franchise) and they keep $2 million and then distribute the other $2 million equally among squad players.

See also our articles on prize money for other sports such as; US Open Tennis, Tour de France, World Boxing Super Series, Formula 1 and Wimbledon Prize money 2021.

Who won the 2021 IPL season?

IPL 2019 prize money

The Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final to win their third title.

How many teams compete in the IPL?

Only eight teams competed in the IPL 2021 season over 60 matches. An estimated 1.5 million fans attended the previous season 2017 games throughout the season.

See also: Top 10 Sports Competitions With Biggest Prize Money In 2021 & UEFA Champions League Prize Money 2021

Teams and final standings of the 2021 IPL Twenty20 season

PldWLTNo ResultPtsNet Run Rate
Sunrisers Hyderabad (2)149500180.284
Chennai Super Kings (C)149500180.253
Kolkata Knight Riders (3)14860016-0.07
Rajasthan Royals (4)14770014-0.25
Mumbai Indians146800120.317
Royal Challengers Bangalore146800120.129
Kings XI Punjab14680012-0.502
Delhi Daredevils14590010-0.222

IPL 2021 Most Valuable Player

Sunil Narine was the Most Valuable Player in 2021. Playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, Narine scored 367 runs and took 17 wickets to win the award. Narine won USD$ 14,500 and a trophy for the achievement.

Most runs scored by a player in IPL 2021 season

Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad171773552.5142.4484086328
Rishabh PantDelhi Daredevils141468452.61173.6128*156837
K. L. RahulKings XI Punjab141465954.91158.4195*066632
Ambati RayuduChennai Super Kings161660243149.75100*135334
Shane WatsonChennai Super Kings151555539.64154.59117*224435

Ave: Average runs, SR: Striker Rate, HS: Highest score.

IPL 2021 Most wickets taken by a player

Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab1414244/1618.668143
Rashid KhanSunrisers Hyderabad1717213/1921.86.7319.40
Siddarth KaulSunrisers Hyderabad1717213/2326.048.2818.80
Umesh YadavRoyal Challengers Bangalore1414203/2320.97.8615.950
Trent BoultDelhi Daredevils1414182/2025.888.8417.550

BBI: Best Bowling Innings, ECON: Economy, SR: Strike Rate, 4W: 4 wickets taken in innings

The IPL 2017 season

Teams and final standings of the 2017 IPL league season

PldWLTNo resultPtsNet Run Rate
Mumbai Indians (C)1410400200.784
Rising Pune Supergiant (RU)149500180.176
Sunrisers Hyderabad (4)148501170.599
Kolkata Knight Riders (3)148600160.641
Kings XI Punjab14770014–0.009
Delhi Daredevils14680012−0.512
Gujarat Lions14410008−0.412
Royal Challengers Bangalore14310017−1.299

2017 IPL statistics- Most runs by a player

David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad141464158.27141.81126146326
Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders161649841.5128.0276*04627
Shikhar DhawanSunrisers Hyderabad141447936.84127.397703539
Steve SmithRising Pune Supergiant151547239.33121.9684*033812
Suresh RainaGujarat Lions141444240.18143.9784034213

IPL 2017 Most wickets taken by a player

PlayerTeamMatInnsWktsBest inningsAvgEconSR5w
Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad1414265/1914.197.05121
Jaydev UnadkatRising Pune Supergiant1212245/3013.417.0211.41
Jasprit BumrahMumbai Indians1616203/7227.4117.80
Mitchell McClenaghanMumbai Indians1414193/2426.689.38170
Imran TahirRising Pune Supergiant1212183/1820.57.8515.60

The IPL combined team of the season 2021?

David Warner
Gautam Gambhir
Robin Uthappa
Steve Smith (C)
Rishabh Pant (WK)
Ben Stokes
Krunal Pandya
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Rashid Khan
Jasprit Bumrah
Jaydev Unadkat

Who was the IPL Most Valuable Player 2021?

Ben Stokes was the most valuable player in the IPL season. The Englishman scored 316 runs and took 12 wickets for Rising Pune Supergiant. Stokes won USD$ 14,500 (₹ 10,00,000) and a trophy for his achievement.

IPL 2020

The next edition of the IPL will be the 12th edition of the tournament. It will once again, be held in India. The only edition to be held abroad was the 2nd one. It took place in South Africa. The legendary captain MS Dhoni might or might not play this time. Dhoni took some time off cricket after India were knocked out in the semi finals of the tournament.

Other players to watch out would of course be Virat Kohli of course.

See also…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.