List of Ballon D’or winners of all time – Past Winners List – 1956-2018!

List of Ballon D'or winners of all time - Past Winners List - 1956-2018!

List of Ballon D’or winners of all time

List of Ballon D’or winners of all time? Ballon d’Or Award Past Winners? Have you ever wanted to find out which players have won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award before? Well, if you have then worry not because we have prepared a list of FIFA Ballon d’Or Award Past Winners of all time since it’s inception in 1956. List of Ballon D’or winners of all time?

FIFA Ballon D’or Award past winners all-time list

The FIFA Ballon d’Or is an individual award organised by the football governing body FIFA to recognized the best talent of the year. The FIFA Ballon d’Or award is by far the biggest individual award a footballer should ever hope for during his career as a professional footballer.

During the first days the only players who were eligible to be part of the Ballon d’ Or were only European players, it would then be called the best player from Europe now these days it doesn’t matter from which league or country you are playing from.

Even though it includes even countries outside Europe most players who have gone on to win the award play from European countries like Spanish, German, English, Italian & Portuguese clubs which in other words still makes it a European award.

Ballon D’or Award Winner 2017 – Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2017 Ballon D’Or Award

Ballon D'or Award Winner 2016 - Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 Ballon D'Or Award

Ballon D’or Award Winner 2017? Cristiano Ronaldo wins Ballon d’Or award. FranceFootball annonced Cristiano Ronaldo as the winner of the 2016 Ballon d’or ahead of Messi and Griezmann. The Frence Magasin annonced the award winner on the 12 December 2017.

Since Ronaldo won two of Europe’s biggest titles, Champions League 2017 and Euro 2016, it would look strange if he didn’t win the price this year. Ronaldo has won the France Footballs Ballon d’Or 2017 award and he is expected to win the the price on the FIFAs gala in the beginning of January 2018.

List of Ballon D'or winners of all time

Who has the most Ballon D’or awards? Lionel Messi vs Cristiano Ronaldo?

Player With Most Ballon d’ Or Awards!

Football players with the most Ballon D’or awards? Who is the player with most Ballon d’ Or awards? List of Ballon D’or winners of all time?

Who has the most Ballon D’or awards? Lionel Messi is the player with most Ballon d’Or awards. The Argentine international has five ballon d’ Or awards to his name followed by Cristiano Ronaldo who now has five Ballon d’ Or awards to his name.

Lionel Messi first won the FIFA Ballon d’ Or in 2009, he went on to win it four consecutive times making him the first ever player to win the award four times and consecutively, in 2015 he finally won his fifth Ballon d’ Or after loosing out to Cristiano Ronaldo for two years straight.

List of Ballon D’or winners of all time

List of Ballon D’or winners of all time? Here is a full list of the Ballon d’ Or winners since 1956 until 2018. As you will see Messi and Ronaldo are dominating the list of Ballon D’or winners of all time. France Footballs Ballon d’Or 2017 award regarding the football year 2016 went as expected to Cristiano Ronaldo.

YearFootball PlayerFootball ClubNationality
2018Luka ModricReal MadridCroatia
2017Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridPortugal
2016Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridPortugal
2015Lionel MessiFC BarcelonaArgentina
2014Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridPortugal
2013Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridPortugal
2012Lionel MessiFC BarceonaArgentina
2011Lionel MessiFC BarcelonaArgentina
2010Lionel MessiFC BarcelonaArgentina
2009Lionel MessiFC BarcelonaArgentina
2008Cristiano RonaldoManchester UnitedPortugal
2007KakaAC MilanBrazil
2006Fabio CannavaroJuventus/Real MadridItaly
2005RonaldinhoFC BarcelonaBrazil
2004Andriy ShevchenkoAC MilanUkraine
2003Pavel NedvedAC MilanJuventus
2002RonaldoReal MadridBrazil
2001Michael OwenFC LiverpoolEngland
2000Luis FigoReal MadridPortugal
1999RivaldoFC BarcelonaBrazil
1998Zinedine ZidaneJuventusFrance
1997RonaldoInter MilanBrazil
1996Matthias SammerBorussia DortmundGermany
1995George WeahAC MilanLiberia
1994Hristo StoichkovFC BarcelonaBulgaria
1993Roberto BaggioJuventusItaly
1992Marco Van BastenAC MilanNetherlands
1991Jean Pierre PapinMarseilleFrance
1990Lothar MatthausInter MilanGermany
1989Marco Van BastenAC MilanNetherlands
1988Marco Van BastenAC MilanNetherlands
1987Ruud GullitAC MilanNetherlands
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniJuventusFrance
1984Michel PlatiniJuventusFrance
1983Michel PlatiniJuventusFrance
1982Paolo RossiJuventusItaly
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern MunichGermany
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern MunichGermany
1979Kevin KeeganHamburgEngland
1978Kevin KeeganHamburgEngland
1977Allan SimonsenBorussia MonchengladbachDenmark
1976Franz BeckenbauerBayern MunichGermany
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffFC BarcelonaNetherlands
1973Johan CruyffFC BarcelonaNetherlands
1972Franz BeckenbauerBayern MunichGermany
1971Johan CruyffFC BarcelonaNetherlands
1970Gerd MullerBayer MunichGermany
1969Gianni RiveraAC MilanItaly
1968George BestManchester UnitedNorthern Ireland
1967Florian AlbertFerencv Rosi TCHungary
1966Bobby ChaltonManchester UnitedEngland
1964Denis LawManchester UnitedScotland
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustDukla PragueCzechoslovakia
1961Omar SivoriJuventusItaly
1960Luis SuarezFC BarcelonaSpain
1959Alfredo Di StefanoReal MadridSpain
1958Raymond KopaReal MadridFrance
1957Alfredo Di StefanoReal MadridSpain
1956Stanley MatthewsBlackpoolEngland

How is the Ballon d’ Or winner selected?

The “diverse international jury” of voters is made up of national team coaches and captains from a selection of FIFA‘s 209 national associations, in addition to “specialist journalists.” There are some surprisingly lax stipulations laid out for the voters:

Only one journalist per country may vote. They are allowed to select players who play in or are affiliated with their own country. 

National team captains cannot vote for themselves, but can vote for national or club colleagues. (Bleacher report)

What is the vote for? What are the votes based on?

According to its Rules of Allocation, FIFA bestows the award “according to on-field performance and overall behavior on and off the pitch.”

The behavioral aspect is an important one, as the chosen player must have role model qualities—on and off the field. It is for this reason that we see players like Luis Suarez not winning the award despite being on top of his and everyone’s game.

More about Ballon d’Or award

Here is more about the Ballon d’Or award

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.