Home Football CAF Champions League past winners: list of previous winners 1965-2019!

CAF Champions League past winners: list of previous winners 1965-2019!

CAF Champions League past winners: list of previous winners 1965-2019!

CAF Champions League Past Winners – All Time Past Winners

CAF Champions League Past Winners – All Time Past Winners? Have you ever wanted to find out the CAF Champions League Past Winners – All Time Past Winners? Well, if you have then worry not because we have prepared a list of the CAF Champions League Past Winners – All Time Past Winners.

CAF Champions League past winners list

The CAF Champions League has produced 55 winners, since its inception in 1965 with Esperance de Tunis being the 55th addition following their win in the 2018-19 season. Tunis beat Moroccan side Wydad Casablanca in the second leg after drawing the first leg 1-1.

Like the Champions of Europe, Champions of Asia, Champions of America, Champions of Australia, the Champions of Africa are also entitled to play in the FIFA Club World Cup. Their most succesful side is Al-Ahly who have won it 8 times, the CAF Champions League not the FIFA Club World Cup!

However, they regularly participated in the FIFA Club World Cup and have surprised quite a few teams! They are one of Egypt’s most succesful teams. However, the team this time who will battle in the FIFA Club World Cup is Esperance de Tunis and they will want to do Africa proud just like their previous participants and representatives from the continent.

Amongst other remarkable champions, 2016 Champions Mamelodi Sundowns became the second South African side to win the CAF Champions League despite losing 1-0 to Zamalek in Alexandria in the return leg clash. The Brazilians lifted the trophy with a 3-1 aggregate win to win their first continental silverware in their history.

Below a list of previous winners of the continent’s flagship inter-clubs competition since 1965

CAF Champions League Past Winners – All Time Past Winners

Brief Information About the CAF Champions League

The CAF Champions League is a seasonal association football competition established in 1964. The CAF Champions League is open to the league champions of all Confederation of African Football member associations, as well as to the clubs finishing second in the strongest leagues from the CAF 5-Year Ranking and finally, the defending champions of the competition participate too. Prior to the 1997 season, the tournament was named the African Cup of Champions Clubs

Previously we published the:

2018 CAF Champions League Winners

CAF Champions League Past Winners

Espérance de Tunis won the title for the third time since the inception of the champions league, defeating Al-Ahly in the final, and qualified as the CAF representative at the 2018 FIFA Club World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, and also earned the right to play against the winners of the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup in the 2018 CAF Super Cup in December.

Mot Successful Team in The CAF Champions League

CAF Champions League Past Winners

What is the most successful team in the CAF champions League? Egyptian based club Al Ahly is the most successful club in the Champions League and in Africa overall, the club has won a record of 8 CAF Champions League titles to their name the last one coming in the year 2013. The most successful club in the CAF Champions League have not been in their best form in recent years but managed to finish as runners up in 2018 against the now defending champions Esperance Tunis

List of CAF Champions League Past Winners – All Time Past Winners (1965-2016)

Here is the full list of the CAF Champions League past winners.

Year Winner Country
2019 Espérance Tunis Esperance Tunis Tunisia 
 2018 Espérance Tunis Esperance Tunis  Tunisia
 2017  Wydad Athletic Club Casablanca  Morocco
2016Mamelodi SundownsMamelodi SundownsSouth AfricaSouth Africa
2015TP MazembeTP MazembeCongo DRCongo DR
2014ES SétifES SétifAlgeriaAlgeria
2011Espérance TunisEspérance TunisTunisiaTunisia
2010TP MazembeTP MazembeCongo DRCongo DR
2009TP MazembeTP MazembeCongo DRCongo DR
2007ES SahelES SahelTunisiaTunisia
2004Enyimba AbaEnyimba AbaNigeriaNigeria
2003Enyimba AbaEnyimba AbaNigeriaNigeria
2000Hearts of OakHearts of OakGhanaGhana
1999Raja CasablancaRaja CasablancaMoroccoMorocco
1998ASEC MimosasASEC MimosasIvory CoastIvory Coast
1997Raja CasablancaRaja CasablancaMoroccoMorocco
1995Orlando PiratesOrlando PiratesSouth AfricaSouth Africa
1994Espérance TunisEspérance TunisTunisiaTunisia
1992Wydad ACWydad ACMoroccoMorocco
1991Club AfricainClub AfricainTunisiaTunisia
1990JS KabylieJS KabylieAlgeriaAlgeria
1989Raja CasablancaRaja CasablancaMoroccoMorocco
1988ES SétifES SétifAlgeriaAlgeria
1985FAR de RabatFAR de RabatMoroccoMorocco
1983Asante KotokoAsante KotokoGhanaGhana
1981JE Tizi-OuzouJE Tizi-OuzouAlgeriaAlgeria
1980Canon YaoundéCanon YaoundéCameroonCameroon
1979Union Sportive DoualaUnion Sportive DoualaCameroonCameroon
1978Canon YaoundéCanon YaoundéCameroonCameroon
1977Hafia FCGuineaGuinea
1976MC AlgerMC AlgerAlgeriaAlgeria
1975Hafia FCGuineaGuinea
1973AS Vita KinshasaAS Vita KinshasaCongo DRCongo DR
1972Hafia FCGuineaGuinea
1971Canon YaoundéCanon YaoundéCameroonCameroon
1970Asante KotokoAsante KotokoGhanaGhana
1968TP MazembeTP MazembeCongo DRCongo DR
1967TP MazembeTP MazembeCongo DRCongo DR
1966Stade AbidjanIvory CoastIvory Coast
1965Oryx DoualaCameroon

CAF Champions League past winners: list of previous winners 1965-2019! 4

Also Have A Look At Past Winners Lists:

Previously we have published past winners on the following cups and league’s.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.