Former Premier League Dermot Gallagher criticized the penalty awarded to France in yesterday’s World Cup final, calling it 100% wrong. During the 34th minute, a corner from Antoine Griezmann saw the ball making contact with Ivan Perisic’s arm. Perisic’s visibility was blocked by Blaise Matuidi.
Official Nestor Pitana did not initially award the penalty to France but he reviewed the incident after the video assistant referees advised him to do so. He eventually awarded the penalty and Antoine Girezmann converted it to restore France’s lead.
“100 per cent not a penalty. He’s far, far too close to the ball as it comes over the forward’s head,” Gallagher told Sky Sports News. It just strikes him – he doesn’t move his hand to the ball, he’s got no intention of handling the ball. The law says it has to be deliberate. His arms aren’t in an unorthodox position – it just doesn’t tick any boxes.”
France eventually went on to score another two goals by Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe in the second half. Croatia pulled one back thanks to Mario Mandzukic who cashed in on an error made by French skipper-goalkeeper Hugo Lloris.
However, at the blow of the final whistle, France won 4-2 and lifted their second World Cup crown.