Germany declared as the host nation of UEFA Euro 2024

Germany will host UEFA Euro 2024, the 17th edition of the UEFA European Championship. A 17-member voting committee decided the host of Euro 2024. Germany were up against Turkey.

Germany received 12 votes while Turkey received 4. This will be the first time that Germany will host a European Championship as a unified nation. The last time Germany hosted the Euros was as West Germany in 1988. Germany last hosted the 2006 World Cup where they came third.

By virtue of being host, Germany automatically qualify for the tournament thus marking their 13th appearance at the Euros. Provided they qualify for Euro 2020, 2024 will be Germany’s 14th appearance.

Germany’s World Cup-winning captain and head of their bid Philipp Lahm said, “I’m very proud of everyone who’s worked to bring the 2024 European Championships to Germany. We’re looking forward to what’s ahead, we have several years to get into top shape. We want to have a big party with everyone together. We have a lot of plans, we want to share it all and get everyone on board. We’re looking ahead and looking forward to it.”

10 cities will host 51 matches of the tournament with Berlin’s Olympistadion being the venue for the final. They are Berlin, Munich, Frankfurt, Dusseldorf, Dortmund, Leipzig, Cologne, Hamburg, Stuttgart and Gelsenkirchen.

Out of these venues, Dusseldorf’s Merkur-Spiel Arena is the only stadium which did not host any matches during the 2006 FIFA World Cup.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.