Raheem Sterling named FWA Footballer of the Year

Maanchester City star Raheem Sterling has been named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year. Sterling has had a terrific season with Manchester City so far, scoring 23 goals and providing 17 assists in 48 appearances across all competitions.

Sterling lost the PFA Player of the Year award to Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk but he beat out van Dijk for this award. Sterling’s Manchester City teammate Sergio Aguero came third in the voting. Other players who received votes included Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Bernardo Silva, Alexandre Lacazette and David Silva.

FWA Chairman Carrie Brown said, “In such a close title race, there is no surprise that two of the main protagonists are from Liverpool and Manchester City, but it is Raheem Sterling that is the resounding victor, winning by more than 100 votes – 62 per cent of the votes went to Sterling. Sterling talked this week about looking to Steven Gerrard for leadership, to set an example, but we believe he has set an example not just for his generations, but for generations ahead of him and before him.

We did think it was going to be closer than that. We have to recognise that Virgil van Dijk has had a stunning season, we all recognise the abilities of defenders, but it is this leadership off the field that I think has tipped Raheem Sterling’s vote in his favour.

I must say, when I was trying to write an assimilation of what he has achieved this season, you cannot underplay how far he has developed in the game.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.