Home Premier League Chelsea FC Vardy named writers’ player of the year

Vardy named writers’ player of the year


Leicester striker claims honour

Leicester striker Jamie Vardy has won the Writers’ Footballer of the Year award.

The England forward got 36% of the vote from 290 journalists, ahead of team-mates Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante.

Vardy, 29, has scored 22 Premier League goals this season, including netting in a league record 11 games in a row.

The Foxes need two more points to guarantee their first top-flight title and will win it on Monday if Tottenham fail to beat Chelsea.

His teammate Mahrez bagged the PFA player of the year award last month, with Deli Alli grabbing the young player of the year.

The last time two different players from the same club won both awards was 2004-05 when Chelsea’s John Terry (PFA) and Frank Lampard (FWA) were the winners.

Vardy returns from a 2-match ban on Saturday when Swansea face Everton at home, but Leicester could already be champions by then depending on the result at Stamford Bridge tonight.


By Ben Kelly – @benkelly_10


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.