Home European football England All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List? The 2018 Football World Cup was the 21st FIFA World Cup. It took place in Russia from 14 June to 15 July 2018. It was the first World Cup to be held in Eastern Europe, and the 11th time that it had been held in Europe. So when did the FIFA World Cup start? Well the The FIFA World Cup started in 1930. It was held in Uruguay and it has the distinctive honor of being the only World Cup without qualifying rounds as only countries which were invited for the competition could participate. Only 13 nations took part in this World Cup.

Uruguay went on to win the World Cup defeating Argentina in the final. Here we look at the All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List.

Who are the most successful teams in FIFA World Cup history?

Brazil is the most successful team in the FIFA World Cup after winning five titles. The Brazil side is well renowned for good attractive attacking football- or ‘Joga Bonito”. Germany and Italy are also joint-second best at the World Cup after having won four World Cups each. Uruguay, France and Argentina are the only other teams to have won the cup more than once. England and Spain have all won the tournament once each.

Since 1930, 20 World Cup tournaments have taken place and eight different teams have won the tournament. Brazil won a record five times. Germany and Italy won four titles each followed by Uruguay, France and Argentina who won it twice. England and Spain are the only other countries to have won the World Cup. Here, we look at all the past winners of the FIFA World Cup from 1930 to 2018. So here we look at the All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List.

Past winners of the FIFA World Cup-All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

1930 Uruguay flag footballUruguay Argentina Uruguay: 13 teams were invited. no qualification
1934 italyItaly Czechslovakia Italy: 16 teams qualified through qualification round
1938 italyItaly Hungary France: 16 teams qualified but Austria withdrew
1950 Uruguay flag footballUruguay Brazil Brazil: 13 teams competed after 3 teams withdrew
1954 GermanyW. Germany Hungary Switzerland: 16 teams from 4 regions
1958 BrazilBrazil Sweden Sweden: 16 team from three regions (no asia)
1962 BrazilBrazil Czechslovakia Chile: 16 teams (no teams from Asia or Africa)
1966 England cricket flagEngland West Germany England: 16 teams 4 regions (North Korea Asian)
1970 BrazilBrazil Italy Mexico: 16 teams 5 regions (Morocco 1st africa side)
1974 GermanyW. Germany Netherlands West Germany: 16 teams 5 regions
1978 argentinaArgentina Netherlands Argentina: 16 teams
1982 italyItaly West Germany Spain: Expanded to 24 teams from 6 confederations
1986 argentinaArgentina West Germany Mexico: 24 teams and 52 matches made it biggest
1990 GermanyW. Germany Argentina Italy: 24 teams (More than 1 Asian team for first time)
1994 BrazilBrazil Italy United States: 24 teams 5 confenderations
1998 FranceFrance Brazil France: Expanded to 32 teams (8 groups of 4 teams)
2002 BrazilBrazil Germany Korea/Japan: 32 teams, (first time in hosted in asia)
2006 italyItaly France Germany: 32 teams, 64 matches, record attendance
2010 SpainSpain Netherlands South Africa: 32 teams (first time in Africa)
2014 GermanyGermany Argentina Brazil: 32 team (most viewed world cup in history)
2018 FranceFrance Croatia Russia: 32 teams
2022 Qatar: 32 teams
2026 USA, Mexico, Canada: 48 (most teams ever)

Most Successful FIFA World Cup Teams of all time

All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List Brazil

Brazil has won the World Cup a record five times (2002, 1994, 1970, 1962 and 1958). The South American’s have also lost two finals (1998 and 1950). Brazilian star Pele is the only player to have won three World Cups. He is known as the best ever footballer of all time.

SEE ALSO: LIST: FIFA World Cup All Time Top Goal Scorers

FIFA World Cup history- All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

France won the recent 2014 FIFA World Cup which was their second title.

Both Germany and Italy have won four World Cups each. West Germany was the best team from 1950 after winning four World Cups but also made four World Cup finals. Netherlands are the only nation that made the final more than two times only to lose the final. They lost three finals (1974, 1978 and 2010). Those poor Dutch fans!

Also interestingly, only European or South American teams have ever won the World Cup so far. The USA and Turkey are the teams outside Europe or South America that have finished 3rd in World Cups.

So with the 2018 FIFA World Cup now here, we look through all the teams with the most titles ever. Have a look at the the table below! Here is the All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List.

See also: FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners list – Past All Time Winners

All-Time FIFA World Cup Winners List

National team Wins Runners-up Total finals Years won Years runners-up
Brazil 5 2 7 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002 1950, 1998
Germany 4 4 8 1954, 1974, 1990, 2014 1966, 1982, 1986, 2002
Italy 4 2 6 1934, 1938, 1982, 2006 1970, 1994
Argentina 2 3 5 1978, 1986 1930, 1990, 2014
Uruguay 2 0 2 1930, 1950
France 2 1 3 1998, 2018 2006
England 1 0 1 1966
Spain 1 0 1 2010
Netherlands 0 3 3 1974, 1978, 2010
Czechoslovakia 0 2 2 1934, 1962
Hungary 0 2 2 1938, 1954
Sweden 0 1 1 1958
Croatia 0 1 1 2018



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.