Home Football Awards Ballon d'Or Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016

Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016

Ballon d'Or shortlist revealed

Ballon d'Or shortlist revealed

2016 Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed

Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016? The thirty-man shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d’Or has today been unveiled.

France Football, in recent years, had partnered with FIFA for the award. But that partnership ended in September, with France Football going it alone.

Ballon d’Or shortlist released 2016

This year’s list, as expected, contains many of the finest players in the world. And of the thirty players nominated, eight ply their trade in the Premier League.

Alongside the usual big names, like Cristiano Ronaldo, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Lionel Messi, there are places for Manchester United pair Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Paul Pogba, Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero and Kevin De Bruyne, Leicester duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy, Tottenham goalkeeper Hugo Lloris, and West Ham United’s Dimitri Payet.

The list was unveiled today in batches of five, and Real Madrid lead the way with six nominations. They are followed by Bayern Munich and Barcelona, both teams with four players making the shortlist.

There, surprisingly, is no place on the shortlist for the likes of Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil, Karim Benzema of Real Madrid, or Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho.

Odds Ballon d’Or expected winner 2016

Player to win Ballon d’Or
Cristiano Ronaldo 1.12
Leo Messi 7.00
Antoine Griezmann 7.00
Luis Suárez 7.50

See the lastest odds here =>

Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016

Here is a full list of the 30 man FIFA Ballon d’Or shortlist.


Club & Country

Sergio Agüero Manchester City & Argentina
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Borussia Dortmund & Gabon
Gareth Bale Real Madrid & Wales
Gianluigi Buffon Juventus & Italy
Kevin De Bruyne Manchester City & Belgium
Paulo Dybala Juventus & Argentina
Diego Godín Atlético Madrid & Uruguay
Antoine Griezmann Atlético Madrid & France
Gonzalo Higuaín Napoli/Juventus & Argentina
Zlatan Ibrahimović Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United & Sweden
Andrés Iniesta Barcelona & Spain
Koke Atlético Madrid & Spain
Toni Kroos Real Madrid & Germany
Robert Lewandowski Bayern München & Poland
Hugo Lloris Tottenham Hotspur & France
Riyad Mahrez Leicester City & Algeria
Lionel Messi Barcelona & Argentina
Luka Modrić Real Madrid & Croatia
Thomas Müller Bayern München & Germany
Manuel Neuer Bayern München & Germany
Neymar Barcelona & Brazil
Dimitri Payet West Ham & France
Pepe Real Madrid & Portugal
Paul Pogba Juventus/Manchester United & France
Sergio Ramos Real Madrid & Spain
Rui Patrício Sporting CP & Portugal
Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid & Portugal
Luis Suárez Barcelona & Uruguay
Jamie Vardy Leicester City & England
Arturo Vidal Bayern München & Chile

How is the FIFA Ballon d’ Or voted for?

Unlike previous years, national-team captains and coaches are no longer involved in the voting, with football journalists deciding the winner instead. Also, the three finalists will not be announced before the winner is revealed, and the announcement of the victor will come before the end of the calendar year, not in January as has recently been the case.

More about Ballon d’Or award

Here is more about the Ballon d’Or award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here