Home Football Awards Ballon d'Or Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown: Who voted for whom?

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown: Who voted for whom?

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© Bildbyrån

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown? Who voted for whom? Have you ever wanted to find more about the voting process of the FIFA Ballon d’Or award before? Well, if you have then worry not because we have prepared a list of Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown.

Ballon d’Or Award winners list

The Ballon d’Or is an individual award organised by France Football to recognize the best talent of the year. The Ballon d’Or award is by far the biggest individual award a footballer should ever hope for during his career as a professional footballer.

During the first days the only players who were eligible to be part of the Ballon d’Or were only European players, it would then be called the best player from Europe now these days it doesn’t matter from which league or country you are playing from.

Even though it includes even countries outside Europe most players who have gone on to win the award play from European countries. Spain, Germany, England, Italy and Portugal are the countries that has produced most winners. So you could say its still a European award.

How is the Ballon d’ Or winner selected?

The “diverse international jury” of voters is made up of national team coaches and captains from a selection of FIFA‘s 209 national associations, in addition to “specialist journalists.” There are some surprisingly lax stipulations laid out for the voters:

Only one journalist per country may vote. They are allowed to select players who play in or are affiliated with their own country. 

National team captains cannot vote for themselves, but can vote for national or club colleagues. (Bleacher report)

What is the vote for? What are the votes based on?

According to its Rules of Allocation, FIFA bestows the award “according to on-field performance and overall behavior on and off the pitch.”

The behavioral aspect is an important one, as the chosen player must have role model qualities—on and off the field. It is for this reason that we see players like Luis Suarez not winning the award despite being on top of his and everyone’s game.

Nominations are submitted by 184 coaches, 184 national captains and 173 members of the global media.

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown: Who voted for whom?

Full details of which country picked whom in the Ballon d’Or 2019 voting are out and here’s the full list:

Countries from A-C:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Countries from E-L:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Countries from M-R:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Countries from S-Z:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Ballon d’Or Award 2019 winner – who won Ballon d’Or 2019?

Ballon d’Or Award Winner 2019 – Lionel Messi Wins 2019 Ballon d’Or Award

Barcelona prodigy Lionel Messi wins record sixth men's Ballon d'Or award

Who won 2019 Ballon d’Or? Lionel Messi won 2019 Ballon d’Or award. He won his record sixth men’s Ballon d’Or award, beating Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to take the honours. Third was Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ballon d’Or 2019 30 Man Nominees List

The list of 30 Ballon d’Or 2019 candidates has been revealed. Here is the released 30 man shortlist for the Ballon d’Or and how they finished:

Rank Player Club(s) Points
1 Argentina Lionel Messi Spain Barcelona 686
2 Netherlands Virgil van Dijk England Liverpool 679
3 Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo Italy Juventus 476
4 Senegal Sadio Mané England Liverpool 347
5 Egypt Mohamed Salah England Liverpool 178
6 France Kylian Mbappé France Paris Saint-Germain 89
7 Brazil Alisson England Liverpool 67
8 Poland Robert Lewandowski Germany Bayern Munich 44
9 Portugal Bernardo Silva England Manchester City 41
10 Algeria Riyad Mahrez England Manchester City 33
11 Netherlands Frenkie de Jong Netherlands Ajax
Spain Barcelona
12 England Raheem Sterling England Manchester City 30
13 Belgium Eden Hazard England Chelsea
Spain Real Madrid
14 Belgium Kevin De Bruyne England Manchester City 14
15 Netherlands Matthijs de Ligt Netherlands Ajax
Italy Juventus
16 Argentina Sergio Agüero England Manchester City 12
17 Brazil Roberto Firmino England Liverpool 11
18 France Antoine Griezmann Spain Atlético Madrid
Spain Barcelona
19 England Trent Alexander-Arnold England Liverpool 8
20 Gabon Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang England Arsenal 5
Serbia Dušan Tadić Netherlands Ajax 5
22 South Korea Son Heung-min England Tottenham Hotspur 4
23 France Hugo Lloris England Tottenham Hotspur 3
24 Senegal Kalidou Koulibaly Italy Napoli 2
25 Germany Marc-André ter Stegen Spain Barcelona 2
26 France Karim Benzema Spain Real Madrid 1
27 Netherlands Georginio Wijnaldum England Liverpool 1
28 Portugal João Félix Portugal Benfica
Spain Atlético Madrid
29 Brazil Marquinhos France Paris Saint-Germain 0
30 Netherlands Donny van de Beek Netherlands Ajax 0

For more information on the Ballon d’Or, have a look at:

More about Ballon d’Or award

Here is more about the Ballon d’Or award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here