Home Lists Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016

Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016

Ballon d'Or shortlist revealed

Ballon d'Or shortlist revealed

2016 Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed

Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016? The thirty-man shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d’Or has today been unveiled.

France Football, in recent years, had partnered with FIFA for the award. But that partnership ended in September, with France Football going it alone.

Ballon d’Or shortlist released 2016

This year’s list, as expected, contains many of the finest players in the world. And of the thirty players nominated, eight ply their trade in the Premier League.

Alongside the usual big names, like Cristiano Ronaldo, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Lionel Messi, there are places for Manchester United pair Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Paul Pogba, Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero and Kevin De Bruyne, Leicester duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy, Tottenham goalkeeper Hugo Lloris, and West Ham United’s Dimitri Payet.

The list was unveiled today in batches of five, and Real Madrid lead the way with six nominations. They are followed by Bayern Munich and Barcelona, both teams with four players making the shortlist.

There, surprisingly, is no place on the shortlist for the likes of Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil, Karim Benzema of Real Madrid, or Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho.

Odds Ballon d’Or expected winner 2016

Player to win Ballon d’Or
Cristiano Ronaldo1.12
Leo Messi7.00
Antoine Griezmann7.00
Luis Suárez7.50

See the lastest odds here =>

Ballon d’Or shortlist revealed 2016

Here is a full list of the 30 man FIFA Ballon d’Or shortlist.


Club & Country

Sergio AgüeroManchester City & Argentina
Pierre-Emerick AubameyangBorussia Dortmund & Gabon
Gareth BaleReal Madrid & Wales
Gianluigi BuffonJuventus & Italy
Kevin De BruyneManchester City & Belgium
Paulo DybalaJuventus & Argentina
Diego GodínAtlético Madrid & Uruguay
Antoine GriezmannAtlético Madrid & France
Gonzalo HiguaínNapoli/Juventus & Argentina
Zlatan IbrahimovićParis Saint-Germain/Manchester United & Sweden
Andrés IniestaBarcelona & Spain
KokeAtlético Madrid & Spain
Toni KroosReal Madrid & Germany
Robert LewandowskiBayern München & Poland
Hugo LlorisTottenham Hotspur & France
Riyad MahrezLeicester City & Algeria
Lionel MessiBarcelona & Argentina
Luka ModrićReal Madrid & Croatia
Thomas MüllerBayern München & Germany
Manuel NeuerBayern München & Germany
NeymarBarcelona & Brazil
Dimitri PayetWest Ham & France
PepeReal Madrid & Portugal
Paul PogbaJuventus/Manchester United & France
Sergio RamosReal Madrid & Spain
Rui PatrícioSporting CP & Portugal
Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid & Portugal
Luis SuárezBarcelona & Uruguay
Jamie VardyLeicester City & England
Arturo VidalBayern München & Chile

How is the FIFA Ballon d’ Or voted for?

Unlike previous years, national-team captains and coaches are no longer involved in the voting, with football journalists deciding the winner instead. Also, the three finalists will not be announced before the winner is revealed, and the announcement of the victor will come before the end of the calendar year, not in January as has recently been the case.

More about Ballon d’Or award

Here is more about the Ballon d’Or award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.