Home Football TOP 10: Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

TOP 10: Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

TOP 10: Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League? Premier League managers come and go, but do you know the top 10 shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history? These days it’s a rather common thing for managers to be sacked, so you won’t be surprised to find that a few of the top ten were sacked in recent seasons. So here we go starting at 10:

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

10. Paolo Di Canio (Sunderland: 31 March 2013-22 September 2013)

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League

Di Canio was appointed as Sunderland boss during the back end of the 2012/13 campaign.

He had the sole task of keeping the Black Cats in the top flight, which he did successfully, beating huge rivals Newcastle United in the process.

However, Sunderland sat bottom of the table after their first five games of the 2013/14 season, meaning Di Canio packed his bags after just 12 matches in charge.

9. Iain Dowie (Charlton Athletic: 30 May 2006-13 November 2006)


Dowie was granted the tough task of replacing the hugely successful Alan Curbishley at Charlton, and it’s fair to say it didn’t go too well.

The Addicks were in the relegation zone by October, which meant that Dowie’s time at the Valley was over after just 12 fixtures.

8. Chris Hutchings (Bradford City: 18 June 2000-6 November 2000)

TOP 10: Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League history

After Paul Jewell left Bradford for Sheffield Wednesday, his assistant Chris Hutchings took over as manager at Valley Parade.

However, he only lasted 12 games as the boss of the Bantams, winning just one of those in process.

7. Chris Hutchings (Wigan Athletic: 14 May 2007-5 November 2007)


There’s a bit of deja vu going on here… Chris Hutchings again took over from Paul Jewell after he resigned as the Wigan Athletic manager.

Things looked to have changed since Bradford, as Wigan appeared top of the Premier League table after just a handful of games.

But the tables turned swiftly after six straight defeats left the Latics in the relegation zone.

Hutchings was sacked again after taking charge of just 12 games, again.

6. Jacques Santini (Tottenham Hotspur: 17 June 2004-5 November 2004)


Remember, remember the fifth of November, right?

After winning three and drawing four of his 11 games in charge, Santini strangely resigned as Spurs’ manager.

5. Sammy Lee (Bolton Wanderers: 30 April 2007-17 October 2007)


When Sam Allardyce left Bolton, his assistant Sammy Lee took charge at the then Reebok Stadium.

Lee won just one game of 11 in charge, therefore losing his job as the Trotters’ manager.

Every cloud has a silver lining though, as Lee would go on to become Rafa Benitez’s assistant at Liverpool.

4. Bob Bradley ( Swansea: 3 October 2016-27 December 2016- 11 games)

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League

Bob Bradley was named Swansea manager in 3 October 2016 but his reign at the Welsh club did not last. He managed a total of 11 games and won just two matches and lost seven and drew two. Not a great record for the American. Swansea appointed Paul Clement in his place and he only lasted until the beginning of the next season.


3. Paul Sturrock (Southampton: 4 March 2004-23rd August 2004)

Shortest managerial reigns in Premier League

Sturrock was named as Gordon Strachan’s replacement at the back end of the 2003/04 season, managing the remaining seven league games.

However, his first full season in charge would see him sacked after just two matches, meaning he only lasted nine encounters as the Saints’ boss.

2. Les Reed (Charlton Athletic: 14 November 2006-24 December 2006)

Shortest managerial reign Premier League?

Second place for shortest managerial reign is Les Reed for his time at Charlton.

When Iain Dowie was sacked as manager of Charlton (mentioned earlier), his assistant, Reed, took control of first team proceedings.

He only won one of just seven league games in charge, before being sacked on Christmas Eve.

1. Frank de Boer (Crystal Palace: 26 June 2017-11 September 2017- four games)

The shortest managerial reign in Premier League history award goes to: Frank de Boer.

He has the rather unfortunate title of having the shortest reign in Premier League history. The Dutchman was in charge for only four league games before getting the boot. His side didn’t score a single goal in the four Premier League matches he was in charge for and thus they have the worst start to any Premier League campaign in history

He left after only managing 450 minutes- the shortest reign ever ( in terms of matches rather than number of days).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here