Home Premier League Chelsea FC Spain announce World Cup squad

Spain announce World Cup squad


Vicente Del Bosque has announced his provisional squad for this summer’s FIFA World Cup finals.

Spain head into the tournement looking to defend their trophy which they won in South Africa in 2010, with Del Bosque selecting a very strong squad, as always.

English based players including Manchester City trio Alavaro Negredo, David Silva, and Jesus Navas all make the cut after superb season’s at the club, with Juan Mata, Cesar Azpilicueta, Fernando Torres and David De Gea.

All the usual Barcelona and Real Madrid suspects are in, apart from Madrid pair Alvaro Arbeloa and Isco Fernandez, who have both been dropped from the provisional squad heading to Brazil.

De Gea goes into the squad, with the Manchester United keeper replacing Barcelona’s Victor Valdes in the party, with Valdes having torn his Cruciate Ligament back in March, he links up with Real Madrid’s Iker Casillas, and Napoli’s Pepe Reina, who of course is at the Serie A club from Liverpool.

New Chelsea signing Diego Costa has also made the squad, having decided to play for Spain rather than his native Brazil, with Costa netting 28 La Liga goals this season, Fernando Llorente comes in for Roberto Soldado, with Soldado enduring a tough first season in England at Tottenham Hotspur.


Here is the Spanish squad in full.

Goalkeepers Iker Casillas, David de Gea, Pepe Reina

Defenders Sergio Ramos, Gerard Piqué, Raúl Albiol, Juanfran, Jordi Alba, César Azpilicueta, Daniel Carvajal, Alberto Moreno

Midfielders Xavi, Javi Martínez, Xabi Alonso, Andrés Iniesta, Koke, Sergio Busquets, Santi Cazorla, Ander Iturraspe, Cesc Fábregas, Thiago Alcântara, Juan Mata, David Silva, Pedro, Jesús Navas

Forwards Diego Costa, David Villa, Fernando Torres, Álvaro Negredo, Fernando Llorente

Previous articleJose Mourinho takes dig at Eden Hazard
Next articleRichards drops hint at exit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here