Home Lists Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown: Who voted for whom?

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown: Who voted for whom?

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© Bildbyrån

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown? Who voted for whom? Have you ever wanted to find more about the voting process of the FIFA Ballon d’Or award before? Well, if you have then worry not because we have prepared a list of Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown.

Ballon d’Or Award winners list

The Ballon d’Or is an individual award organised by France Football to recognize the best talent of the year. The Ballon d’Or award is by far the biggest individual award a footballer should ever hope for during his career as a professional footballer.

During the first days the only players who were eligible to be part of the Ballon d’Or were only European players, it would then be called the best player from Europe now these days it doesn’t matter from which league or country you are playing from.

Even though it includes even countries outside Europe most players who have gone on to win the award play from European countries. Spain, Germany, England, Italy and Portugal are the countries that has produced most winners. So you could say its still a European award.

How is the Ballon d’ Or winner selected?

The “diverse international jury” of voters is made up of national team coaches and captains from a selection of FIFA‘s 209 national associations, in addition to “specialist journalists.” There are some surprisingly lax stipulations laid out for the voters:

Only one journalist per country may vote. They are allowed to select players who play in or are affiliated with their own country. 

National team captains cannot vote for themselves, but can vote for national or club colleagues. (Bleacher report)

What is the vote for? What are the votes based on?

According to its Rules of Allocation, FIFA bestows the award “according to on-field performance and overall behavior on and off the pitch.”

The behavioral aspect is an important one, as the chosen player must have role model qualities—on and off the field. It is for this reason that we see players like Luis Suarez not winning the award despite being on top of his and everyone’s game.

Nominations are submitted by 184 coaches, 184 national captains and 173 members of the global media.

Ballon d’Or 2019 Voting breakdown: Who voted for whom?

Full details of which country picked whom in the Ballon d’Or 2019 voting are out and here’s the full list:

Countries from A-C:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Countries from E-L:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Countries from M-R:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Countries from S-Z:

Ballon d'Or 2019 Voting breakdown Who voted for whom
© France Football

Ballon d’Or Award 2019 winner – who won Ballon d’Or 2019?

Ballon d’Or Award Winner 2019 – Lionel Messi Wins 2019 Ballon d’Or Award

Barcelona prodigy Lionel Messi wins record sixth men's Ballon d'Or award

Who won 2019 Ballon d’Or? Lionel Messi won 2019 Ballon d’Or award. He won his record sixth men’s Ballon d’Or award, beating Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk to take the honours. Third was Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ballon d’Or 2019 30 Man Nominees List

The list of 30 Ballon d’Or 2019 candidates has been revealed. Here is the released 30 man shortlist for the Ballon d’Or and how they finished:

1Argentina Lionel MessiSpain Barcelona686
2Netherlands Virgil van DijkEngland Liverpool679
3Portugal Cristiano RonaldoItaly Juventus476
4Senegal Sadio ManéEngland Liverpool347
5Egypt Mohamed SalahEngland Liverpool178
6France Kylian MbappéFrance Paris Saint-Germain89
7Brazil AlissonEngland Liverpool67
8Poland Robert LewandowskiGermany Bayern Munich44
9Portugal Bernardo SilvaEngland Manchester City41
10Algeria Riyad MahrezEngland Manchester City33
11Netherlands Frenkie de JongNetherlands Ajax
Spain Barcelona
12England Raheem SterlingEngland Manchester City30
13Belgium Eden HazardEngland Chelsea
Spain Real Madrid
14Belgium Kevin De BruyneEngland Manchester City14
15Netherlands Matthijs de LigtNetherlands Ajax
Italy Juventus
16Argentina Sergio AgüeroEngland Manchester City12
17Brazil Roberto FirminoEngland Liverpool11
18France Antoine GriezmannSpain Atlético Madrid
Spain Barcelona
19England Trent Alexander-ArnoldEngland Liverpool8
20Gabon Pierre-Emerick AubameyangEngland Arsenal5
Serbia Dušan TadićNetherlands Ajax5
22South Korea Son Heung-minEngland Tottenham Hotspur4
23France Hugo LlorisEngland Tottenham Hotspur3
24Senegal Kalidou KoulibalyItaly Napoli2
25Germany Marc-André ter StegenSpain Barcelona2
26France Karim BenzemaSpain Real Madrid1
27Netherlands Georginio WijnaldumEngland Liverpool1
28Portugal João FélixPortugal Benfica
Spain Atlético Madrid
29Brazil MarquinhosFrance Paris Saint-Germain0
30Netherlands Donny van de BeekNetherlands Ajax0

For more information on the Ballon d’Or, have a look at:

More about Ballon d’Or award

Here is more about the Ballon d’Or award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.