European Golden Boot Winners list – Past all time Winners 1968-2018

 European Golden Boot Winners - all time past winners

European Golden Boot Award Winners List – All Time Past Winners

European Golden Boot winners list? List of European Golden Boot past winners? Which players have won the European Golden Boot before?

European Football Each Season’s Leading Goal Scorer? Players with most goals in Europe’s top division football? Who is the player with most goals in European football history? Who are the top goal scorers in European top division ever in the history?

Have you ever thought of finding out who is the European League all time leading goal scorer? Well, we will find out soon in this list of the All-Time European Golden Boot Winners. The European Golden boot award is given to the top scorer in Europe’s top division.

European Golden Boot History (Golden Shoe)

Back in 1968 when they introduced the European golden boot award it was called the “Soulier d’Or” (Golden Shoe). The Golden Shoe was an award which was awarded to the players with most league goals. That included most goals in Cup competition and European goals were not included, only respective leagues. The award was awarded by the L’Équipe magazine since it’s inception in 1968. During the 1996-97 season that changed to the European Sports Media.

UEFA coefficient Rule:

From 1968-1991, the Golden boot was awarded to anyone regardless of the toughness of the the league or the number of games the player had took part in. During this period, Eusébio, Gerd Müller, Dudu Georgescu and Fernando Gomes each won the Golden Boot twice. That doesn’t mean these players did not deserve the Golden Boot (Shoe). After a number of complaints, The European Sports Media has awarded the Golden shoe to players according to points obtained. This allows players in tougher leagues to claim the award even if they scored fewer goals than players in weaker leagues.

In 1991, The European Golden Boot rules were revived with leagues around the world divided according to UEFA Coefficients were goals scored in top leagues like in England, Spanish and Germany were given 2.0 points while goals scored in leagues like the French Ligue 1, Dutch League etc were given 1.5 points.

Who won the inaugural European Golden Boot award in 1968?

So who won the inaugural European Golden Boot award in 1968? The winner of the first Golden Boot award was the Portuguese star Eusébio. Eusébio scored 43 goals for Benfica in Primeira Liga during 1968 season. That was the most league goals in Europe during 1968 and Eusébio was awarded the first Golden Boot. Eusébio received the Golden Boot award again later in 1973 when he scored 40 goals.

European Gold Boot Past Winners

We took the time to look at all the previous European Golden Boot winners since it’s inception during the 1967-68 season. Here is the list of the Past Winners of the European Golden Shoe award.

Year Winners Team League Goals Points
2017 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona Spanish La Liga  37 74
2016 Luis Suares FC Barcelona Spanish La Liga  40 80
2015 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Spanish La Liga 48 96
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid Spanish La Liga 31 62
2013 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona Spanish La Liga 46 92
2012 Lionel Messi  FC Barcelona Spanish La Liga 50 100
2011 Cristiano Ronaldo  Real Madrid Spanish La Liga 40 80
2010 Lionel Messi  FC Barcelona Spanish La Liga 34 68
2009 Diego Forlán   Athletico Madrid Spanish La Liga 32 64
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd English Premier League 31 62
2007 Francesco Totti Roma Italian Serie A 26 52
2006 Luca Toni Fiorentina Italian Serie A 31 62
2005 Thierry Henry Arsenal English Premier League 25 50
2004 Thierry Henry  Arsenal English Premier League 30 60
2003 Roy Makaay Deportivo Spanish La Liga 29 58
2002 Mário Jardel Sporting Portugal Liga 42 84
2001 Henrik Larsson  Celtic Scottish Premier League 35 70
2000 Kevin Phillips  Sunderland English Premier League 30 70
1999 Mário Jardel  FC Porto Portuguese Primeira Liga 36 72
1998 Nikos Machlas  Vitesse Dutch Eredivisie 34 68
1997 Ronaldo FC Barcelona Spanish La Liga 34 68
1996 Zviad Endeladze   Georgian Liga 40 NA*
1995 Arsen Avetisyan   Armenian PL 39 NA*
1994 David Taylor   League of Wales 43 NA*
1993 Ally McCoist   Scottish Premier League 34 NA*
1992 Ally McCoist   Scottish Premier League 34 NA*
1991 Darko Pančev    Yugoslav 34  
1990 Hugo Sánchez   Spanish La Liga 38  
1989 Dorin Mateuţ   Romanian Liga 43  
1988 Tanju Çolak   Turkish Super Lig 39  
1987 Rodion Cămătaru   Romanian Liga 44  
1986 Marco van Basten   Dutch Eredivisie 37  
1985 Fernando Gomes   Portuguese Primeira Liga 39  
1984 Ian Rush   English Premier League 32  
1983 Fernando Gomes    Portugal  Liga 36  
1982 Wim Kieft    Dutch Eredivisie 31  
1981 Georgi Slavkov    Bulgarian League 32  
1980 Erwin Vandenbergh    Belgian League 39  
1979 Kees Kist    Dutch Eredivisie 34  
1978 Hans Krankl    Austrian Liga 41  
1977 Dudu Georgescu    Romanian Liga 37  
1976 Sotiris Kaiafas    Cypriot Liga 39  
1975 Dudu Georgescu    Romanian Liga 33  
1974 Héctor Yazalde    Portuguese Primeira Liga 46  
1973 Eusébio    Portuguese Primeira Liga 40  
1972 Gerd Müller    Germany Bundesliga 40  
1971 Josip Skoblar    French Ligue 1 44  
1970 Gerd Müller    Germany Bundesliga 38  
1969 Petar Zhekov    Bulgarian League 36  
1968 Eusébio    Portuguese Primeira Liga 43  

*Not awarded

How many European golden boots does Ibrahimovic have? None, Zlatan has never received the European Golden Boot.

Most European Golden shoe awarded

Who have been awarded the Most European Golden shoe? Cristiano Ronaldo is the player that have been awarded the most European Golden Shoe. Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player to have won the European Golden Shoe four times and Lionel Messi have only won it tree times. Although Lionel Messi was the first three-time Golden Shoe winner in a row during 2009-10, 2011-12 and 2012-13. Gerd Müller was the first player to win the award twice in a row, in 1969-70 and 1970-72.

Multiple European Golden Shoe winners

Here is the list of the Multiple winners of the European Golden Boot Award.

Football Player No. Seasons
Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo 4 2007-08, 2010-11, 2013-14, 2014-15
Argentina Lionel Messi 4 2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17
Portugal Eusébio 2 1967-68, 1972-73
Germany Gerd Müller 2 1969-70, 1971-72
Romania Dudu Georgescu 2 1974-75, 1976-77
Portugal Fernando Gomes 2 1982-83, 1984-85
Scotland Ally McCoist 2 1991-92, 1992-93
Brazil Mário Jardel 2 1998-99, 2001-02
France Thierry Henry 2 2003-04, 2004-05
Uruguay Diego Forlán 2 2004-05, 2008-09

Lionel Messi & Cristiano Ronaldo Show!

How many times has Messi won the golden boot? How many times has Ronaldo won the golden boot? In the past eight years, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have shared the European Golden Boot seven times with Cristiano Ronaldo winning four and Lionel Messi claiming three becoming the first player to win three European Golden Boots which he won from 2010-2013.

He also holds the all-time record of 50 goals which was scored during the 2011-12 season. These two great legends of football have taken the world of football by storm over the last decade also sharing eight Ballon d’OR’s between them.

Player No. Seasons
Portugal Cristiano Ronaldo 4 2007-08, 2010-11, 2013-14, 2014-15
Argentina Lionel Messi 4 2009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17

See also the list with FIFA Ballon d’OR Winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 3 =