Ballon d’Or 2013 Voting breakdown, who voted for whom?

A cracker of a year for Ronaldo saw him take football’s most prestigious individual award at FIFA’s gala evening in Zurich.

The Real Madrid winger was heavy favourite prior to the announcement on Monday, having scored 66 goals in 56 games for club and country throughout the year as well as sealing 2014 World Cup qualification for Portugal by scoring a brilliant hat-trick against Sweden in their play-off match. It is the second time Ronaldo has won the award, the first coming in 2008.

Nominations were submitted by 184 coaches, 184 national captains and 173 members of the global media

So let’s break them down and have a look at who voted for who:

Spain (ranked 1st in the world)

Iker Casillas (captain) – Cristiano Ronaldo, Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben.

Vicente Del Bosque (coach) – Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Ribery.

Germany (2nd)

Philipp Lahm (captain) – Ribery, Ronaldo, Lionel Messi.

Argentina (3rd)

Messi (captain) – Iniesta, Xavi, Neymar.

Alejandro Sabella (coach) – Messi, Ribery, Ronaldo.

Colombia (4th)

Mario Yepes (captain) – Radamel Falcao, Ribery, Messi.

Jose Pekerman (coach) – Falcao, Messi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Portugal (5th)

Ronaldo (captain) – Falcao, Gareth Bale, Mesut Ozil.

Paulo Bento (coach) – Ronaldo, Falcao, Robben.

Uruguay (6th)

Diego Lugano (captain) – Luis Suarez, Edinson Cavani, Messi.

Oscar Tabarez (coach) – Ribery, Messi, Ronaldo.

Italy (7th)

Gianluigi Buffon (captain) – Andrea Pirlo, Ronaldo, Messi.

Cesare Claudio Prandelli – Pirlo, Lahm, Robert Lewandowski.

Switzerland (8th)

Gokhan Inler (captain) – Ronaldo, Messi, Ribery.

Netherlands (9th)

Robin Van Persie (captain) – Robben, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo.

Louis Van Gaal (coach)- Ribery, Thomas Muller, Robben.

Brazil (10th)

Thiago Silva (captain) – Messi, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo.

Luiz Felipe Scolari (coach) – Ronaldo, Messi, Ibrahimovic.

Belgium (11th)

Vincent Kompany (captain) – Ribery, Yaya Toure, Eden Hazard.

Marc Wilmots (coach) – Ibrahimovic, Lewandowski, Hazard.

Greece (12th)

Georgios Karagounis (captain) – Ronaldo, Ribery, Toure.

Fernando Santos (coach) – Ronaldo, Ribery Messi.

England (13th)

Steven Gerrard (captain) – Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez.

Roy Hodgson (coach) – Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic, Robin van Persie.

United States (14th)

Clint Dempsey (captain) – Ronaldo, Messi, Ibrahimovic.

Jurgen Klinsmann (coach) – Ribery, Bale, Falcao.

Chile (15th)

Claudio Bravo (captain) – Messi, Ronaldo, Van Persie.

Jorge Sampaoli (coach) – Ronaldo, Messi, Robben.


Anthony Hudson (coach) – Bastian Schweinsteiger, Pirlo, Ozil.

Congo DR (87th)

Youssouf Mulumbu (captain) – Andres Iniesta, Neymar, Messi.

Eritrea (195th)

Michael Seium (media) – Neymar, Toure, Ibrahimovic.

Ethiopia (93rd)

Degu Debebe (captain) – Xavi, Pirlo, Thomas Muller.

Georgia (100th)

Jaba Kankava (captain) – Iniesta, Pirlo, Cavani.

Guam (171st)

Gary White (coach) – Messi, Van Persie, Bale.

Jamaica (82nd)

Winfried Schafer (coach) – Lewandowski, Ribery, Xavi.

Kuwait (105th)

Bader Al-Mutawaa (captain) – Messi, Ozil, Xavi.

Malta (132nd)

Roderick Briffa (captain) – Iniesta, Ibrahimovic, Lahm.

New Zealand (91st)

Winston Reid (captain) – Gareth Bale, Neymar, Messi.

Norway (54th)

Brede Hangeland (captain) – Schweinsteiger, Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo.

Slovakia (60th)

Martin Skrtel (captain) – Suarez, Ronaldo, Messi.

Turks and Caicos Islands (207th)

James Rene (captain) – Van Persie, Messi, Suarez.

Wales (44th)

Ashley Williams (captain) – Bale, Xavi, Ronaldo.

Chris Coleman (coach) – Bale, Messi, Ronaldo.

Written by Steve Milne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *