FIFA Women Player of The Year Winners – All Time List

FIFA Women Player of The Year Winners – All Time List

FIFA Women Player of The Year Winners – All Time List? Who are previous winners of the women’s world player of the year? Have you ever wanted to find out which female players have won the FIFA Women’s player of the year if you have then worry not because we have prepared a list of the previous winners.

FIFA Women Player of The Year Winners – All Time List

Since 2004, the voting process is based on a shortlist of 35 produced by FIFA, from which team captains and representatives from FIFPro could vote in addition to the national team managers. From 2010 to 2015, the FIFA player of the year award was merged with the Ballon d’Or. As you can see this award has been dominated by just a few players.

The votes are decided by media representatives, national team coaches, and national team captains. In October 2016, it was announced that the general public would also be allowed to vote. Each group has 25% of the overall vote.

This year we have been given the news of introducing the Ballon d’OR to women’s football, is that not great news? I definitely think it is!

Also have a look at our, List of Ballon D’or winners of all time – Past Winners List – 1956-2018! and Ballon d’Or Finalists List – All-time since 2010

Player With Most Awards

Mart part of the FIFA Women Player of The Year Winners

The Player with most awards is Brazilian Marta who has won it a record six times after winning the award early this year. Marta has dominated the awards list followed by Bridgit Prinz

Oldest and Youngest Player to Win The Award

The oldest winner is Germany goalkeeper Angerer, who was only 35 when she won in 2013. She is also the only goalkeeper to win either the women’s or men’s award.

The youngest winner is Marta, who won in 2006 at age 20. After winning the award for five years in a row from 2006 until 2010, there was almost a decade passed before she won it for a record sixth time in 2018.

List of Women Player of The Year Winners Since 2001

This award is given annually to the female player who is thought to be the best in the world, based on votes by coaches of international teams. Here is the list of the Past winners of the FIFA Women’s Player of the Year.

2017Lieke MartensThe Netherlands
2016Carli LloydUSA
2015Carli LloydUSA
2014Nadine KeßlerGermany
2013Nadine AngererGermany
2012Abby WambachUSA
2011Homare SawaJapan
2005Birgit PrinzGermany
2004Birgit PrinzGermany
2003Birgit PrinzGermany
2002Mia HammUnited States
2001Mia HammUnited States

Also have a look at;

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.